Hot off the Press

There’s a new Q&A with Stephen in Rolling Stone, and inevitably the question of religion comes up. Makes me think I really need to get back to updating things more regularly here.

Stephen Colbert on Religion

Would your family all sing carols on Christmas Eve?
Sure, we’d process through the house, and we still do it. My family is 50 people now — nieces and nephews and that sort of thing — and we process from the youngest to the oldest. The youngest puts the baby Jesus in the manger on Christmas Eve and we sing “Silent Night.” It’s very traditional.

Does faith still play a big part in your life?
Very much. I am highly variable in my devotion. From a doctrinal point of view or a dogmatic point of view or a strictly Catholic adherent point of view, I’m first to say that I talk a good game, but I don’t know how good I am about it in practice. I saw how my mother’s faith was very valuable to her and valuable to my brothers and sisters, and I’m moved by the words of Christ, and I’ll leave it at that.

But you do teach Sunday school?
I teach the seven year olds. I’m the catechist for their first communion.

Hat tip to the completists at the No Fact Zone, who tirelessly comb the universe for all things Colbert.

2 Comments

  1. That Sunday gig with the 7-year-olds is more significant than his regular one! That’s a huge responsibility, and my prayers go with him.

  2. Yeah, but… Stephen Colbert’s advocacy, on a national basis, directly against Church teaching and in favor of homosexual “marriage” is absolutely a deal-breaker. It, ultimately, could be grounds for his excommunication (in the same way the Pelosi’s advocacy of abortion could be grounds for hers.) WHY AREN’T YOU TALKING ABOUT THIS???????? How can Colbert presume to teach, or be allowed to teach, Sunday School. How can he call himself Roman Catholic one second and in the next totally violate Catechism #2357 and #2361? Why aren’t more Catholics calling for him to stop supporting the destruction of children’s and parents’ rights, and the spread of word views and actions that are so grotesquely violations of Natural Law. At best, he’s a very confused Protestant.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.